And now, we can add M&Ms to the list. The traditional version of this uber-popular candy has milk (ugh) as a main ingredient. But now, Little Secrets has created its own version of vegan peanut M&Ms (and regular M&Ms, too!). And they taste just the childhood candies everyone adores (maybe better).
The product (officially titled Little Secrets Salted Peanut Dark Chocolate) isn’t certified vegan (due to shared equipment in a facility that produces milk products), but here are the ingredients:
dark chocolate (Fair Trade Certified™ unsweetened chocolate, Fair Trade Certified™ sugar, Fair Trade Certified™ cocoa butter, soy lecithin [an emulsifier], Fair Trade Certified™ vanilla), roasted peanuts (peanuts, peanut oil, sea salt), sugar, dried cane syrup, coloring (includes turmeric oleoresin, spirulina extract), gum arabic, confectioner’s glaze
“Little Secrets cannot be called vegan, as they are produced in a facility which also produces milk products. Our Dark Chocolate, Dark Chocolate Raspberry, Dark Chocolate Salted Peanut and seasonal Dark Chocolate Peppermint do NOT contain any milk or dairy in the ingredients, while our Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter, Milk Chocolate, and Dark Chocolate Toasted Coconut do contain dairy.”
(And for those wondering about the confectioner’s glaze, it’s made with carnauba wax and mineral oil.)
In addition to the vegan peanut M&Ms, the company also makes regular M&M-esque candies (Little Secrets Dark Chocolate). They also make Dark Chocolate Peppermint and Dark Chocolate Raspberry varieties (both vegan) — plus Milk Chocolate, Toasted Coconut Dark Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter (not vegan).
Little Secrets are available at a whole host of retailers, from Whole Foods to Amazon.com to Target to Earth Fare and more. But beware.