How to Eat Vegan at Subway

When you think about eating at Subway, there is a good chance that you think of their slogan, ‘eat fresh’.  Does this mean that it is easy to eat a vegan friendly meal at Subway?

With all of the vegetables to choose from, you would think that eating vegan at Subway would be an easy thing to do.  However, if you don’t know what you’re doing, it can actually become quite difficult. But you don’t have anything to worry about as this guide is going to help you learn everything you need to learn in order to eat a healthy, vegan friendly meal at your local neighborhood Subway location.

To help make it as easy as possible, this guide is going to be broken down into several steps that you should always take in order to make sure you are eating a completely vegan friendly meal whenever you are at Subway.  

Eating Vegan at Subway

The very first thing that you are going to want to do when you get to Subway, is to decide whether your are going to get a sandwich, or whether you are going to get a salad.  If you are going to get a sandwich, you will need to decide which type of bread you are going to want. If you are getting a salad, you can skip picking out they type of bread you want, as there is not bread in the salads there.  So if you are getting a sandwich, you are going to want to start out with the first step, which is to pick out your bread choice.

Step #1:  Picking Out The Right Bread

If you are having a sandwich, it all starts with selecting the right vegan friendly bread.  So prior to getting started, you are going to want to choose between either:

  • Hearty Italian
  • Roasted Garlic
  • Spinach Wrap
  • Tomato Basil Wrap
  • Sourdough
  • Italian
  • 9-Grain Wheat

Once you have selected one of the vegan friendly breads from above, it is time to move onto the next step, the vegetable selection step.  If you were going to get a salad, you are going to want to start building your salad on the vegetable selection step as well.

Step #2:  Customizing With Vegetables

The next step in the creation of your vegan friendly sandwich and the first step of your vegan friendly salad is to choose the vegetables that you want to add.  The good thing about this part is that while all of the vegetables are vegan friendly, there is also a wide variety to choose from making it very easy to customize your sandwich exactly how you would like too.  The only difference between the vegetables you select for you sandwich and the vegetables that you select for your salad is that the ones for your sandwich will be put onto your sandwich, while the ones for your salad are going to be placed into a bowl where they will eventually be chopped up.

Moving on, it’s time to choose your vegetables.  Keep in mind that Subway does have a large selection of vegetables to choose from, the likes of which include:

  • Tomatoes
  • Shredded Lettuce
  • Red Onions
  • Green Peppers
  • Spinach
  • Cucumbers
  • Pickles
  • Olives
  • Jalapenos
  • Banana Peppers
  • Avocado or Guacamole (there is an extra fee for these)

Once you have successfully selected all of the vegetables that you want, it is not time to move to the next step where you will be adding any extra flavors that you may want to add.  Now keep in mind that this is the same process for both sandwiches and salads, the main difference being that the salad is going to be mixed and chopped after this step unless you don’t want it mixed up.  

On a side note though, when you do have your salad chopped up, it cuts the vegetables which releases even more of their amazing flavors.  So it is definitely worth it to have them chop up your salad for you after you have selected all of your vegetables and sauces.

Step #3:  Making it Saucy

Once you have successfully selected all of the vegetables that you are going to want, it is time to choose which sauce is right for you.  While you can keep it classic and go with mustard and mayo, there are also other choices that will spruce up the flavor to an entirely new level.  Your choices when it comes to vegan friendly Subway sauces includes:

  • Deli Brown Mustard
  • Yellow Mustard
  • Vinegar and Vinaigrette
  • Oil
  • Italian Dressing
  • Sweet Onion Sauce

Just know that Subway is always coming out with new sauces that you can try, but before you do, be sure to ask if they are vegan friendly or not.  This way you won’t accidently put something on your salad or sandwich that isn’t vegan friendly.

Step #4:  Accessorize with Sides

Now that you have completed the creation of your vegan friendly salad or sandwich, you may want to accessorize that baby with some vegan friendly sides.  While the sides available to you are going to vary depending upon the location, there are usually always several different sides that you can choose from.  

While all of the sides are not going to be vegan friendly, these ones will be:

  • Apples
  • Classic Potato Chips (Lay’s)
  • SunChips Original
  • Oven Baked Potato Chips (Lay’s)

Once you have selected the vegan friendly side that you are craving, you have completed your vegan friendly meal from Subway.  On a side note however, if you wanted to further enhance the flavors of your salad or sandwich, you could always take it home and then add your own vegan toppings, such as vegan cheese or Tofurky.  It all depends on the flavors that you want to add to your vegan masterpiece.

Like at any restaurant, if you have any questions about any ingredients and if they are vegan friendly or not, all you have to do is ask the workers and they will be able to let you know.